Why All Marvel Movies Are Dull

 

Today I have a really brilliant video essay from Patrick H Willems for you. It’s his first video essay and I really hope there are much more to come.

I must admit  I am a bit ashamed  I couldn’t figure this out myself, being a photographer and all. Funny thing is I really enjoyed the first Marvel Movies, i.e. Ironman and Ironman 2. But then something happened I wasn’t able to put my finger on. I liked the following Marvel Movies, but did not quite enjoy them as much. And now I know why. It’s the dull colour grading of Marvel’s post processing, the lack of black values which should make the colours pop out. Something you would actually think is essential for a movie based on a comic book. But see for yourself and enjoy Patrick’s video essay on the matter.

BONUS: Best description of Captain America – Civil War so far: “Looks like an empty parking lot.”

Filmography links and data courtesy of IMDb.
Leave a Reply

